About Us   |   Contact   |   Advertise With Us   |   Support CWCS

Film Review: Is “In The Heights” Worth The Hype?

June 11, 2021

I am a guy from Northern Michigan and know as much about life in New York City as I do about quantum mechanics. After watching In the Heights, well, I still won’t call myself an expert, but I felt a part of that life for two and a half hours.

It is a great movie about not just Washington Heights but its most important asset – its people. I am not a huge Broadway or musical guy, but Lin-Manuel Miranda has done it again. If you enjoyed Hamilton, you will enjoy In The Heights. The music, the choreography, and the cinematography all work together perfectly to pull you in, but it is the story that keeps you engaged and invested. And that is what movies should do, pull you in and get lost for a few hours, and In The Heights does just that.

The story is told from the point of view of Usnavi (Anthony Ramos) as a Dominican-Republican immigrant running his convenience store on a corner in Washington Heights with his teenage cousin Sonny (Gregory Diaz IV). Everyone has big dreams in this movie. Usnavi wants to go back to the Dominican Republic and open his late father’s old restaurant. His friend Benny (Corey Hawkins) wants to be a successful businessman. His boss had recently sold part of his business to put his daughter Nina (Leslie Grace) through her first semester at Stanford. Usnavi has his eyes on Vanessa (Melissa Barrera) is trying to break out and move downtown to focus on a dream of designing clothes. The neighborhood is slowly dying, and the heat is not helping. Even the piragua guy (Huh, Hamilton?) is struggling to sell his ice shavings to the kids due to the new ice cream truck guy (Wait, is that George Washington?). The group navigates over a three-day span dealing with challenges and dealing with them together.

That is the biggest theme of this musical – community, family, and sticking together through the good times and bad times. Washington Heights is not just a setting, but a character in itself. Usnavi lives with the neighborhood Abuela, Claudia (Olga Merediz), who has raised many of those in the neighborhood. And like any family, they support each other. One character is torn between leaving back to where he was born to relive the good memories. Another does not feel that they are living their parent’s dream instead of their own. Throughout the musical and a tragedy, the lesson of community comes out stronger than it does at the beginning of the film. Everything comes together for everyone, even if it was not according to their plan. 

Another aspect of this musical that’s worth mentioning is the lessons of immigrants and those who are relatively new to the United States. Abuela is the daughter of Cubans escaping Communism. Usnavi’s father came as a child with his parents looking for work. There is a plot point of a character not exactly being of legal status. A factor that drives a lot of characters is continuing why their parents came here – for a better life. I enjoy seeing this perspective while balancing a respect for where your family came from. My late grandfather was an immigrant to the United States and my father tells me stories about how my grandpa describing how grateful he was for America, and we see that here. They do mention the hardships and trials they had while coming here but there is a constant push to continue to make life better for their children.

The movie is directed by Jon M. Chu (Crazy Rich Asians, Step Up 2 & 3D) who combines his excellent use and experience with the camera work and choreography to tell this story better than anyone else could on film. I felt engulfed in Washington Heights, making it feel larger than life. Miranda’s music is almost as good as Hamilton’s soundtrack, it is on point, and you can see that this was the stepping stone that leads him to perfect his style to create Hamilton.

I will still be downloading and listening to it multiple times (don’t tell my sister).

Overall, very little to complain about and I give In The Heights a Must Watch.

5/5

  1. Albertina

    July 26th, 2021 at 11:45 PM

    Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the
    net the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while people think about
    worries that they just don’t know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a
    signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  2. Christoper

    August 1st, 2021 at 4:50 AM

    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and
    I in finding It truly helpful & it helped me out a lot.
    I hope to provide something back and help others like you helped me.

  3. D-Fine8 Ingredients

    August 1st, 2021 at 6:16 AM

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as
    though you relied on the video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to
    your site when you could be giving us something informative to read?

    Take a look at my site; D-Fine8 Ingredients

  4. taruhan bola online

    August 1st, 2021 at 6:46 AM

    I believe everythіng puƄlished was actually ѵrry rеasonable.
    But, consider this, what if you composed a catchier post title?
    I ain’t ѕaying your content isn’t ɡood, hօѡever suppose you adԀed something that grabbed peoрle’s attention? I mean Film Review: Is "
    In The Heights" Worth The Hypе? – Ϲhristians Who Curse
    Sometimeѕ is a littlе boring. You should look at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they сreate news titles to ցet people to pen the links.
    You might add a videeօ or a picture or twoo to get reaԁers еxcjted about what
    yⲟu’ve got to say. In my opinion, it might bring yоhr postѕ a little bit
    more interesting.

  5. D-Fine8 Ingredients

    August 1st, 2021 at 7:01 AM

    Hello There. I found your weblog using msn. This is an extremely neatly
    written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read extra of your
    helpful info. Thank you for the post. I’ll certainly
    return.

    Also visit my web page: D-Fine8 Ingredients

  6. Julieta

    August 1st, 2021 at 7:22 AM

    Every weekend i used to go to see this site, as i want enjoyment, for the reason that this this website conations
    in fact nice funny material too.

    Here is my homepage: Julieta

  7. BodyCore Keto Reviews

    August 1st, 2021 at 8:10 AM

    I enjoy, result in I found exactly what I was taking a look
    for. You have ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice
    day. Bye

    Look into my site BodyCore Keto Reviews

  8. kunjungi website kami

    August 1st, 2021 at 8:30 AM

    May I juѕt say what a comfort to discover an indivіdual
    who really knopws what they’rе dіscuѕsing over the internet.
    You certainly realіze how tto bring a problem to light and maske it important.

    A lot more peoρle have to read this and underѕtand this side of your
    st᧐ry. I was surprised you are not more populаr since you moѕt certainly possess
    the gift.

  9. receita de sopa para emagrecer em 7 dias nimbusweb.me

    August 1st, 2021 at 9:13 AM

    Isto significa que a tendência destinado a desenvolver TAG pode estar
    transmitida hereditariamente.

  10. Allura Fresh

    August 1st, 2021 at 9:21 AM

    you are in point of fact a just right webmaster.
    The site loading speed is amazing. It sort of feels that you are doing any distinctive
    trick. Also, The contents are masterwork.
    you have performed a excellent activity on this matter!

    Look at my blog :: Allura Fresh

  11. OracleLeaf CBD

    August 1st, 2021 at 9:26 AM

    Good day I am so grateful I found your web site,
    I really found you by accident, while I was researching on Google for something else, Anyways I
    am here now and would just like to say thanks for a incredible post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added
    your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep
    up the excellent job.

    Here is my page: OracleLeaf CBD

  12. Rhino Spark Pills

    August 1st, 2021 at 10:47 AM

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this fantastic blog!
    I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to
    my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

    Take a look at my web blog: Rhino Spark Pills

  13. Chandra

    August 1st, 2021 at 11:25 AM

    Thank you for sharing superb informations.
    Your site is very cool. I am impressed by the details
    that you have on this web site. It reveals how nicely you understand
    this subject. Bookmarked this website page,
    will come back for extra articles. You, my friend, ROCK!
    I found simply the information I already searched all over the place and simply
    couldn’t come across. What a great site.

    Here is my blog post – Chandra

  14. Arctic Air Portable AC Review

    August 1st, 2021 at 12:07 PM

    Thanks for every other informative site. Where
    else may just I am getting that type of info written in such an ideal way?

    I’ve a mission that I’m simply now operating on, and I
    have been at the glance out for such info.

    Feel free to surf to my page; Arctic Air Portable AC Review

  15. Slim X Keto Reviews

    August 1st, 2021 at 12:13 PM

    I enjoy what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work and
    reporting! Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve added you guys
    to my blogroll.

    My web site; Slim X Keto Reviews

  16. Erexzen Pills

    August 1st, 2021 at 12:33 PM

    May I simply just say what a comfort to discover someone that
    truly knows what they’re discussing on the net. You actually
    know how to bring a problem to light and make it important.

    More and more people should look at this and understand this side of the story.
    I was surprised that you are not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

    Check out my site :: Erexzen Pills

  17. IQ SuperCharged

    August 1st, 2021 at 12:54 PM

    Hi would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most
    blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    Look into my website … IQ SuperCharged

  18. http://www.meteoritegarden.com/userinfo.php?uid=2783132

    August 1st, 2021 at 1:11 PM

    I have read a few just right stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting.
    I surprise how much effort you place to create one of
    these excellent informative website.

    Here is my homepage; http://www.meteoritegarden.com/userinfo.php?uid=2783132

  19. Green Earth CBD Gummies Review

    August 1st, 2021 at 2:05 PM

    I wanted to thank you one more time for that amazing web site you have created
    here. It’s full of ideas for those who are actually interested in that subject, particularly this very
    post. You’re really all actually sweet and thoughtful of others and reading your blog posts is a fantastic delight in my experience.
    And exactly what a generous treat! Tom and I will certainly have excitement making use of your
    ideas in what we should do next week. Our listing is a distance long and simply put tips is going to be put to good
    use.

    My page – Green Earth CBD Gummies Review

  20. discuss

    August 1st, 2021 at 5:01 PM

    Hello, after reading this awesome article i am also glad to share
    my knowledge here with friends.

  21. Alpha Extracts CBD Oil

    August 1st, 2021 at 8:47 PM

    Attractive component of content. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to say that I acquire in fact loved
    account your weblog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing in your feeds and even I fulfillment
    you get right of entry to consistently quickly.

    Here is my web-site – Alpha Extracts CBD Oil

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CWCS Hoodie

most popular

team favorite

Newest

CWCS T-Shirt

CWCS Trucker Cap

$45.00

$25.00

$25.00

Merch

Shop the CWCS

Shop All →

All Contents Copyright 2021 Christians Who Curse Sometimes